Image
Bozeman, Montana

Introduction:

Back in 2009 Jack and his good friend Eric spent four days on a trip to Cliff Lake, bringing me back many stories. Stories of gorgeous scenery & wildlife, of vodka bottles found in the lake, of accidentally spraying themselves with outdated bear spray and of the canoe springing a leak in the middle of the lake. All of which made me extremely jealous – except for the bear spray incident of course. Ever since then I have been dying to go on a trip with the two of them, but especially the Cliff Lake trip.

The preparations for the sequel began last year, just two  September nights before Jack and I were married. We sat on the back deck and visited about their trip and began to talk about a future one. We pulled out our phones and set a date then and there for the following June.

As the winter and spring passed I began to get nervous about the whole trip coming together as busy summer schedules slowly came together. Our date got bumped back several times until we all decided to take advantage of work vacation over the 4th of July.

So it was that I found myself with my bag packed for my first real backpacking trip.

*The following posts are written from the journal that I kept while on the trip.

July 4th, 2013 Day 1: Bozeman, Montana

Sprawled across Erik’s couch, I think that the hardest part of this trip so far is just the fact that I have never been backpacking before, while Jack has and he has been regulating everything I take so that my pack won’t be too heavy. I fought hard to bring my book and this journal before I realized that my best course of action would be to silently slip that second book in my pack and to just wear my flip-flops and pack my hiking shoes. I did good though. Usually as our departure time gets closer I start shoving whatever I can think of into my bag, but I didn’t this time.

The drive was uneventful & relaxing. I fought the urge to doze so I could visit with Jack. The drive is one of the most relaxing parts of trips for me. I love just having plenty of  time to talk without having all the distractions that are usually around and having the anticipation of the trip to come.

We pulled into town and easily found Erik’s house where we would stay the first night. We didn’t spend much time there though, instead we headed out and did some grocery shopping for the evening before heading out of town and up Hyalite Canyon until we came to the lake. It was beautiful and open surrounded by trees. Despite the fact that it was the 4th, we easily found a quiet piece of the lake.

Hyalite Lake

Although I was unsure that it was really warm enough, the guys wanted to get in the water and try our new life jackets out, so I changed into my swimsuit. Erik popped the tops on three Corona’s and shoved lime wedges into them before we headed into the water. Thankfully, it wasn’t as cold as I thought and the fact that it is a no-wake lake meant that it was peaceful.

Once we got out Erik started a fire and Jack cooked up our steaks to perfection. We laid there on the bank and visited until the light faded. We headed back home to do some food prep, deciding not to go watch fireworks like we had originally planned, but we heard them exploding all night long and saw a few as we laid in the back lawn. It was warm enough that we moved inside to the couch to watch a movie before calling it a night for the early morning ahead of us. It was so warm in the house that I slept in my swimsuit and shorts and we just threw our sleeping bag on top of the bed without covering up.

Day 2

