July 6th, 2013 – Day 3: The Trek to Hidden Lake

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I write this I am listening to distant thunder and the pitter-patter of rain on the canvas of my tent. Last night went better than I thought – I wasn’t as nervous as I thought. But the ground was hard and uncomfortable and  I woke up throughout the night, but neither Jack nor I crawled out of bed until nine-thrity when it became so sweltering hot  in our tent.

We cooked our breakfast burritos up and visited about having a hideaway cabin tucked back somewhere in the woods that only we knew about. After breakfast we took our time packing up our camp and stowing the canoe and unnecessary gear out of the way until the return trip. By the time that we threw our packs on and started following the path that led back to Hidden it was already eleven o’clock.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The Boat in Otter Lake

The packs were heavy and it wasn’t long until  I was tired and my sunburned legs were covered in scratches from the pine needles and wild rosebushes that brushed against them as I walked along narrow trails. But the trek was beautiful as we made our way through meadows before heading back into the trees. We stopped at Otter Lake (though there were no otters to be seen) for a short fishing break. It was a small green lake with a rowboat sunk in the middle of it. After his first trip, Jack asked a local, long time hiker about it he said that the boat had been there as long as he could remember. Does anyone know the story of the boat?

Instead as Jack & Erik meandered around the shore looking for their perfect fishing holes I laid down in the tall grass to get away from the flies and it seemed to work. However, as I relaxed and watched the clouds in the sky I suddenly heard Erik loudly cursing the flies, saying that he felt like a dead animal being attacked by them and couldn’t stay another minute.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Goose Lake

So we scrambled out of the valley and took up our packs again. Shortly after this we began heading more uphill and soon we passed by Goose Lake, which was on of the most picturesque I’ve seen, but this time we didn’t stop. Not long thereafter we emerged out of the trees and saw Hidden Lake. It was larger than I expected and incredibly blue and clear. As we made our way around the shore we were all excited to see the rope swing hanging temptingly next to the refreshing water. Between the heat and the flies we couldn’t resist and within minutes the guys were in the lake. It took me a little while to try (ok, ok, it was a little like the scene from the Notebook, just not as dramatic), but once I was in it was a blast.

Rope Swing
Rope Swing

After a long while at the rope swing we continued on, apparently looking for the right spot to camp. We went through several before climbing to the top of a hill that jutted out into the lake. Jack pronounced this as the same place that they stayed last time and the packs were dropped.  I wanted to sleep down by the water where there was a little flat spot under a tree, but after a closer look I decided that the top of the hill was probably the better choice. By the end of our stay I changed my mind about our camping spot, mostly because the view of the lake from above was breathtaking.

I unrolled my sleeping bag on the dirt and at my lunch inside to try and avoid some of the flies and mosquitoes while Jack and Erik visited and ate. But the first drops of rain came so we vacated our lunch in a hurry to get our shelters up and Jack and I zipped up the tent fly just as the hail started. When the weather let up I dozed while the other two went fishing and then I began to write.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Cheers!

For the start of our journey click here.

