July 7th, 2013 – Day 4: Camp Hideaway

Hidden Lake, Montana

This morning after breakfast I finished gathering flat rocks off of the hillside and placed them in a ring around the place where I had cleared last night to make a fire ring. Shortly after I started this Lewis and Clark went off to see if they could find some dead fell for seating. When I went to check on them they had found a large log, downhill from the camp of course, that they were working on cutting into sections with their hatchets. Eventually, they had two decent size logs that they lugged up the hill. By the time they had them up I had finished my fire ring, so I watched as they drove wooden stakes in the ground to keep the logs from rolling down to the lake.

As soon as it was warm enough we went back to the rope swing and took turns dropping into the cool water and then getting out and being eaten by some more flies.

When we returned to camp the guys headed back down to the lake for some more swimming while I attempted to even out my tan, or sunburn rather. I enjoyed the warmth of the sun, but the hollering coming from below me was too tempting and when I looked down and saw them floating out on a log I went down and joined them. I grabbed a log of my own, since it seemed like their goal was to knock each other off. We floated  for a while before the chill of the water became too much and we went back to shore.

Twin BoatsSince we kept seeing people in boats drifting across the lake we headed to the far end of the lake to see where they were at. We were greatly pleased with ourselves when, from across the inlet, we found that our self-made camp was indeed, hidden from view. Thus, with all of our creativity we decided to name it Camp Hideaway.

Sure enough there were boats padlocked up at the far end of the lake, but apparently you had to hike all the way past the next lake (around 3 miles) in order to rent them, so instead we turned back. We spent the late afternoon trying to concoct a way to heat a stone hot enough to boil a pot of water on, because by now we were out of any fresh drinking water and had to boil lake water to drink. Of course, of the many things we forgot on the trip (seriously, the cinnamon rolls?!?!), we also forgot to refresh on how to purify drinking water….so we boiled it for roughly 2 minutes and then drank it through a straw filter.

You can avoid the possibility of nausea, diarrhea or stomach cramps from lake water by filtering it through a coffee filter or several layers of cheesecloth and then boiling it for one minute–or, if at a location one or more miles above sea level, for three minutes. Once the water has cooled, pour it back and forth from one clean container to another to aerate it and improve the taste, if you wish. Store boiled water in clean containers with covers.

Livestrong.com

Later, Jack and Erik went back to the rope swing while I enjoyed some solitary time at Hideaway. On their return they stumbled on an old grate under some bushes and a log and hauled it back up to camp. It worked perfectly for putting over the fire and cooking up our last dinner.

Swimmin'

